If you’re interested in the details of how to actually follow through, you should look at our article “How to Become a Locksmith in Connecticut“
Definition as Per State Law
“Locksmithing” means the inspection, installation, recombination, rekeying, service or repair of locks or locking devices, but does not include: The recombination or rekeying of locks or cylinders by an employee of a retail or wholesale establishment on an employer’s property; the installation, maintenance, repair or service of a vending machine; the duplication or selling of keys or selling of equipment used to duplicate keys at a retail establishment; or work performed by a person at such person’s own residence.
- A Criminal History Record report from the State of Connecticut, State Police Bureau of Identification
- A Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Identification Record / Criminal Background Check.
- $200 Application fee, and $200 renewal
- License expires every 2 years (even numbered years)
Use of Lockpicks and Similar Tools
Legal to own unless the intended use was to gain illegal entry or for theft; or used on a lock for which you didn’t obtain permission. You could also be charged with possessing burglary tools if you are in possession of lockpicks while committing a crime. Want to if if lockpicks are legal? We have a post for that.
Note: We are not lawyers. Make sure you verify this with your lawyer.