Below is a brief overview for those interested in a quick glance at the laws and requirements for becoming a locksmith in Florida.

If you’re interested in the details of how to actually follow through, you should look at our article “How to Become a Locksmith in Florida

License Requirement

Strict and thorough

Definition Per State Law

Locksmith shall mean any individual who for compensation, wages or salary engages in locksmith work and who has received a license under this article. This definition shall not include any person whose activities are limited to making a duplicate key from an existing key.

Background Check

  • The applicant must provide fingerprints for background checks.
  • Must not have been convicted in past 5 or 10 years, depending on the type of felony

Previous Work Requirements

  • Locksmith apprenticeship for 1 year
  • Exception: If worked as a licensed locksmith for 1 year in past 10 years

Misc Rules

  • Exceptions:
    • “An individual who performs locksmith services for himself or herself or for his or her immediate family members without compensation.”
    • “shall not apply to motor vehicle repair shops, mechanics and technicians who service, install, repair, or rebuild automotive locks”
  • Insurance: Minimum of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) in combined liability insurance

Use of Lockpicks and Similar Tools

Legal to own unless the intended use was to gain illegal entry or for theft; or used on a lock for which you didn’t obtain permission. You could also be charged with possessing burglary tools if you are in possession of lockpicks while committing a crime. Want to if if lockpicks are legal? We have a post for that.

Note: We are not lawyers. Make sure you verify this with your lawyer.