Below is a brief overview for those interested in a quick glance at the laws and requirements for becoming a locksmith in New Jersey.

If you’re interested in the details of how to actually follow through, you should look at our article “How to Become a Locksmith in New Jersey

License Requirement

Strict / Complicated

Background Check

  • Be of good moral character pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:5A-27;
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of the first, second or third degree within 10 years prior to the filing of the application for licensure.
  • Fingerprints required

Education Requirements

  • High school or equivalent diploma.
  • Successful completion of the locksmithing examination defined in N.J.A.C 13:31A-2.3.
  • Multiple education units required as listed in New Jersey Administrative Code, Title 13: Law and Public Safety, Chapter 31A: Fire Alarm, Burglar Alarm, and Locksmith Advisory Committee
  • After submitting application, complete 5,040 hours of “practical hands-on experience” in provisioning of locksmith services.
  • Completed a two-year apprenticeship program in the provision of locksmithing services approved by the Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training of the United States Department of Labor
  • Have three years immediately preceding the submission of the application successfully completed two hours of training in the Barrier Free Subcode, N.J.A.C. 5:23-7, two hours of training in the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code, N.J.A.C. 5:23, exclusive of the Barrier Free Subcode, two hours of training in the Americans with Disabilities Act Code, 36 CFR 1191, two hours of training in industrial safety, and two hours of training in New Jersey law and rules governing the provision of burglar alarm, fire alarm, and locksmithing services.

Misc Rules

  • $150 application fee
  • $120 license fee + few additional fees
  • Exceptions possible for honorably discharged armed forces officers.

Use of Lockpicks and Similar Tools

Legal to own unless the intended use was to gain illegal entry or for theft; or used on a lock for which you didn’t obtain permission. You could also be charged with possessing burglary tools if you are in possession of lockpicks while committing a crime. Want to know if lockpicks are legal? We have a post for that.

Note: We are not lawyers. Make sure you verify this with your lawyer.