Below is a brief overview for those interested in a quick glance at the laws and requirements for becoming a locksmith in Oregon.

If you’re interested in the details of how to actually follow through, you should look at our article “How to Become a Locksmith in Oregon

License Requirement

Somewhat Strict

Exceptions to License Requirement

  • Key duplication at a fixed location
  • Landlord
  • Representative of lock manufacturer, wholesaler or retailer.

Definition as Per State Law

Locksmith” means a person who services, installs, repairs, rebuilds, rekeys, repins or adjusts locks, hardware peripheral to locks, safes, vaults, safe deposit boxes or mechanical or electronic security systems.

Background Check

  • Past criminal history and details of conviction required.
May be disqualified for license if convicted for any of the following:
  • Murder
  • Kidnapping
  • Assault in the first degree
  • Rape
  • Sodomy
  • Unlawful sexual penetration
  • Arson in the first degree
  • Robbery in the first or second degree
  • Burglary in the first or second degree
  • Theft in the first or second degree
  • Theft by extortion
  • Aggravated theft in the first degree

Education Requirements

  • Test to be completed online.

Misc Rules

  • $60 application fee
  • $60 test fee
  • $60 license fee
  • Must also have a Residential Construction Contractor License.

Use of Lockpicks and Similar Tools

Legal to own unless the intended use was to gain illegal entry or for theft; or used on a lock for which you didn’t obtain permission. You could also be charged with possessing burglary tools if you are in possession of lockpicks while committing a crime. Want to know if lockpicks are legal? We have a post for that.

Note: We are not lawyers. Make sure you verify this with your lawyer.